Principal Jagels Recognized as 2017 Region 4 Outstanding Principal

By FCPS Department of Human Resources
June 14, 2017

a picture of dave jagels at fcps honorsMr. Jagels was recognized at the annual FCPS Honors event as the 2017 Region 4 Outstanding Principal and one of five finalists for the 2017 FCPS Outstanding Principal. Mr. Jagels has defended the underdog since he was a high school junior volunteering at the Special Olympics. This is also when he first heard the call to help special needs children and began thinking about a career in education. Today, as the principal of Centreville High School, he remains a champion of the underdog, and wholeheartedly lives the school’s mission to Educate, Encourage, and Empower.

Mr. Jagels instituted a Project Aware program at Centreville (one of five in FCPS) for students with severe emotional and social issues. He says part of his role as a leader is to do what he can to make a classroom teacher’s job easier, so he provides them with development opportunities that align with the tenets of the Portrait of a Graduate. Every year he also reminds staff that the most important thing they can do is build relationships with students. “Love your people,” he says. On this he leads the way whether greeting students by name, sitting in on classes or organizing a flash mob for Homecoming. “Any time there is a way to be involved with his school,” said a colleague. “Mr. Jagels takes it.”

Congratulations to all the Centreville High School staff members recognized FCPS Honors.

Outstanding Teacher School-level Recipient

  • Margot Brown (English)

Outstanding New Teacher School and Pyramid-level Recipient

  • Meredith Rigby (World History)

Outstanding Hourly Employee School-level Recipient

  • Younghee Kang (Parent Liaison) 

Outstanding Support Employee School and Pyramid-level Recipient

  • Diana Scheid (Administrative Assistant)

Outstanding Leader School-level Recipient

  •  Alexis Wenzel (Assistant Principal)

Thank you to Karen Clifton for all of her hard work with the nomination process by serving as this year's awards liaison.